Tybee Island Attraction
Ordered by General James Oglethorpe, Governor of the 13th colony, in 1732, the Tybee Lighthouse has been guiding mariners safe entrance into the Savannah River for over 270 years. The Tybee Island Light Station is one of America’s most intact having all of its historic support buildings on its five-acre site. Rebuilt several times the current lightstation displays its 1916 day mark with 178 stairs and a First Order Fresnel lens (nine feet tall).
2017 Sunset Tour Schedule
This is a unique opportunity to experience the lighthouse after hours by joining one of our small private tours. The tour last about ninety minutes and includes a climb to the top of the lighthouse to experience a beautiful Tybee Island sunset. We are limited on how many we can take on each tour and they fill up quickly so if you are interested don’t wait to call. For Reservations call 912-786-5801
May 12 & 26
June 9 & 23
July 14 & 21
August 11 & 25
Sept 15 & 22
The Tybee Museum was established in 1961 by The Tybee Island Museum Association. The Association is now known as The Tybee Island Historical Society, a non-profit organization which also operates The Tybee Island Light Station in addition to the Tybee Museum. The purpose of the museum was the same in 1961 as it is today – to interpret the rich history of Tybee Island.
Perhaps the most interesting feature of the museum is its location in Battery Garland of Fort Screven. Battery Garland was constructed between 1898 and 1899. It was originally used to mount a huge 12 inch “non-disappearing” rifled long range cannon on top of the battery.
Within the walls of Battery Garland are seven rooms which contain artifacts and exhibits covering more than five centuries of history. Most of the lower rooms which now contain the Museum’s exhibits were originally used to store smokeless gun powder and projectiles which weighed over 700 pounds each. Battery Garland was named in honor of Colonel John Garland, Eighth Infantry, who “served with distinction in the Florida War, and died on January 5, 1861.”
For more information visit www.TybeeLighthouse.org